Things that really bother me…

This post was actually requested by multiple people I know personally and a few readers. Yes, surprisingly I do have a few regular readers that I don’t know. So the basic idea is to share things I’m tired of hearing/reading about guns in general.

SHEEPDOGS

This is a term that to the best of my knowledge isn’t very old. I remember hearing it first around 2010 or so and now it’s disgustingly common. Real life sheepdogs are canines used to protect sheep. That’s it. Pretty simple right? Not so fast. This term has grown to falsely describe anyone who protects anything. Member of the neighborhood watch? Sheepdog! Police officer anywhere? Sheepdog! Security officer who carries a flashlight and patrols a salt warehouse? Sheepdog! Now I’m sure about 1 out of every 1,000 people who call themselves a sheepdog actually is a sheepdog. I don’t know what constitutes a sheepdog and I’m pretty sure no one does.

OPERATORS

By my understanding if you hit the gym once a week and the range twice a month you’re an operator. If you own a pair of BDU pants you’re an operator. If you’ve seen Lethal Weapon 3+ times you’re an operator. Of course, none of those things are true. Unless you are a member of a Tier One unit you aren’t an operator, don’t bring shame upon those men and maybe women by comparing yourself to them.

PRESS CHECKS

Knowing if your gun is loaded or not is obviously important. Carrying an unloaded gun is both useless and dangerous. Useless in the fact that if you need to draw the firearm in a stressful situation I guarantee you, unless you’ve trained extensively, that the first sound you hear is a click. It’s dangerous because after your gun goes click either the bad guys gun will go bang, maybe adding a new hole or two to your body. Best case scenario after your gun doesn’t fire is the bad guy proceeds to beat/knife the hell out of you until you get a round in the chamber. When you’re completely familiar with your firearm you’ll be able to tell if a round is in the chamber or not. If you’re still determined to press check do it right before you put your gun on. The simple act of press checking your gun causes you to do two things you shouldn’t ever do in a potentially harmful situation. First, you’re taking one of your hands off your gun to manipulate the slide or cylinder. Second you’re taking your eyes off the target to look at the round. Now I understand the desire to carry without a round in the chamber. I carried a 1911 like that for awhile, but I also trained with that gun way more than was worth it in the long run. If you do carry without a round chambered check out videos of the IDF (Israeli Defense Force) and how they draw.

HOME DEFENSE

I’ve seen hundreds of commercials of a gun stalking through his house in the middle of the night armed only with his trusty gun and a pair of fuzzy slippers. Gun companies, flashlight companies, and ammunition companies all produce these commercials. What they don’t show you is this gun getting shot or beaten to death. Consider the Castle Doctrine. It’s called the CASTLE Doctrine for a reason. Your home is your castle. How many defenders of a castle would go out stalking around looking for invaders? Not many I’d assume. Designate a hard point in your house and defend it. Gather your whole family in that room and stay there. It’s much easier to defend than it is to attack. Try this if you don’t believe me. Get a few people together. Doesn’t matter who. Kids, spouse, friends, mailman. Give them airsoft guns and tell them to hide. Grab your airsoft gun and proceed to clear your home. You won’t last long before they shoot you. After have them try to gain entry to a room you’re protecting and see how much longer you survive. Regardless of your preferred tactics your first action should be to call the cops.

GUN STORES

I don’t work in a gun store. I was recently hired by a growing national chain but I didn’t take the job for a few reasons. Whether your LGS (Local Gun Store) is a huge store with thousands of guns or a small shop with 9 rifles, 15 shotguns, and 4 pistols (I counted) most of the same rules apply. Don’t point a gun at anyone. That also applies to daily life. Don’t dry fire guns without asking. Don’t take apart guns without asking. Don’t slingshot pistols, ever! Slingshotting is hitting the slide release and letting it snap close, you have two hands, use them. Don’t be afraid to ask questions. If they’re mean to you don’t go back, pretty simple. Always check the chamber on a gun you’re handed, I’ve been handed loaded guns twice. Have a rough idea of what you’re looking for if you’re looking to buy. Don’t be scared to go and just browse but tell them you’re just browsing.

Those are just a few things that really bother me when it comes to guns, there are many more but it’s late and I’m tired of typing. Thanks for reading.

3 thoughts on “Things that really bother me…

  1. Stan R. Mitchell

    Good stuff, throughout.

    And great advice about home defense. I’m guilty myself of “clearing my house” when I’ve heard some strange sounds, and even though I’ve rehearsed it, the whole time I’m doing it, I’m thinking of all the ways it could go VERY bad.

    Love how you describe operators/sheepdogs… Only thing I’d add to that is the louder (and longer) they talk, the more full of it they are. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

