A bit of Knife talk

I like knives.
Big knives.
Small knives.
Fixed Blades.
Folding knives.

I like them all. I have about 80 currently and have never sold a knife so that number probably won’t go down. There’s just something about knives that appeal to me, and probably most of you as well. I’ve sold many guns in my life. I’ll buy them, either fix them up a bit or wait for the price to go up and then sell them. I don’t do this with knives and I can’t really explain why.

I have the tacti-coolest of knives and old case knives that are so rusted a court order couldn’t open them. I go through phases with my purchasing. Blade style phases, currently it’s tanto. Fixed or folding phases, currently it’s fixed. I have boot knives and Bowie knives. Daggers and belt knives.

It’s a primal experience to hold a knife. To feel the weight. To think about how your ancestors might’ve charged into battle with William Wallace, Charlemagne or Shaka Zulu. A perfectly balanced knife is a beautiful thing, usually they’re only found by buying a custom knife but I’ve held a few. Even the sound of drawing a knife is great but largely lost today because of molded sheaths. Knives are great for concealing too, there aren’t too many places you can’t hide a blade, just ask a prisoner.

I usually carry two blades. A Kershaw/Emerson CQC-7 that I absolutely love and hasn’t failed me once. The other is a 5.11 Tactical Sidekick Scythe. Those are two great knives that’ll cost you about $100 total. There are more expensive options out there but the difference between an $80 knife and a $250 knife just aren’t worth it to me. I’ll write a full review on the Kershaw/Emerson CQC-7 if mine ever breaks but I wouldn’t hold my breath if I were you.

Take a look at some knives next time you can. You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

