Pocket guns and the people that love them

Almost every manufacturer has at least one “pocket gun” in their line up and for good reason. Small guns are easy to conceal for almost everyone. They make great back up guns to wear on the ankle, thigh or tucked into a pocket.

Now I personally can’t stand having a gun in my pocket for a few reasons.

1. It’s vastly uncomfortable
2. It can be hard to pull quickly
3. It’s the only thing you can safely keep in that pocket
4. It opens you to the inevitable “Is that a gun or are you just happy to see me?” Joke

But don’t think for a second I don’t love small guns, I just carry them differently. Most of the time with pants it’ll be in an ankle holster or when wearing shorts in a thigh holster. Now you might be thinking thigh holsters are for girls, you’d be correct, but they’re also a great alternative for summer time carrying. This summer we hit 100+ degrees for about 10 days straight, and I gave up on my leather IWB holster after about 8 minutes. It was just too hot, sweaty, and uncomfortable to wear. The thigh holster works absolutely great under a pair of proper length shorts. If you’re the type that enjoys showing off your upper thighs they may not be right for you.

Another great reason to have a pocket gun or 5 (don’t judge) is that they make great backup guns. Some of them share magazines with their beefier cousins and even a revolver is better than harsh words if your main gun runs dry.

Now small guns do have some drawbacks. Usually they’re in smaller calibers like .380, .38special, and the oh so useless .25acp. Their stock magazines and cylinders don’t hold many rounds. They’re harder to shoot accurately because of the shorter barrel/sights. If you’re a large handed fellow or lady they can be a nightmare to hold. Unfortunately I have ridiculously wide hands (once pinched my hand on a glock17 changing the mag) so I’ll have trouble getting a full grip on any gun. I’ve overcome this problem by just making my hands as strong as possible so even if I can only hold the gun with 1 or 2 fingers I can still handle the recoil. It’s important to remember though that no gun is perfect. You can pay for a custom built 1911 that’ll run you $6,000 but who’s going to carry it? Not I noble reader, not I.

Another advantage of smaller guns is that they’re often more affordable. I’ve seen Ruger SemiAutos and Smith revolvers in great condition going for much cheaper than their full sized counterparts. This makes small guns also a great choice as a first gun for the budget conscious young person.

Leave a Reply

