For the love of shotguns!

The following is a love story. If you’re not into the mushy stuff I suggest you move on. Anyway, for those of you still with me, let’s talk about shotguns.

Now I’m sure you either own, have held, have seen, or know what a shotgun is so I won’t explain them. I would however like to clear up a few misconceptions.

Myth 1: shotguns spray wide enough to clear a room in one shot.
Truth 1: the way a shotgun sprays varies depending on the gun itself, the ammo being used, the user, the type of shot being used, wind direction, and many many other factors.

Myth 2: shotguns are short range weapons.
Truth 2: Shotguns can be devastating at long ranges with the proper setup. A long rifled barrel and slugs are the key to reaching out and touching your target. I’ve personally seen guys regularly hit targets at 350yds. Not bad.

Myth 3: A shotgun is all you need for home defense.
Truth 3: While having a shotgun never hurts, who’s to say what I need to defend MY home?

That’s only three myths and there are plenty more, but I don’t have the energy to cover them all.

For a novice or first time gun owner a shotgun is a fantastic choice. No other weapon has the kind of versatility a shotgun offers. Home defense? Check. Hunting? Check. Everyday Carry? Dust off that trench coat.

At the beginning of this post I was thinking about my naming my favorite shotgun. That’s not an easy thing to do. I imagine it’s like choosing a favorite child, luckily I’m childless so I don’t have to pick, it’ll probably be the girl though, I’m a softie.

So to wrap this up, let’s all take a minute to think about shotguns, the ones we’ve had, the ones we have, and the ones we want.

Leave a Reply

